How full is your lamp?

How full is your lamp?

What’s it all about?  Filling your lamp?  Or some may think filling your cup.  A wise woman said to me, “Aime how full is your lamp?  If it is not full, then how can you help others?”  I was spent, I was going in many directions.  I had a day job, I was volunteering in the city, I was volunteering for a personal growth work, and also starting my business.  I was so stressed, and getting angry.

What was happening is that my own energy was low, my own lamp was very empty.  I was running on fumes.  Stepping back and making a choice to let go of those 2 volunteer opportunities.  It was for me at that time a hard choice to do.  The thoughts that ran through my head was “They won’t be okay, they’ll struggle without me”.  As I was a VERY involved volunteer for both organizations.

The wise woman again said to me “Aime, saying no to someone else, is saying yes to yourself.  Have you said yes to yourself recently?”  I started to cry.  No I had not been saying yes to myself.  It was interesting too as well to me, that this wise woman was one of my first teachers from the personal growth workshop organization.  The photo below is at of one of the workshops out in the Rocky Mountains.  It was a Camelot theme, and I was dressed that night as a dark faey, hence my black top and purple gothic like angel wings.

Myself with my 2 first personal growth workshop teachers, guides, and friends.
Myself with my 2 first personal growth workshop teachers, guides, and friends.

When I left those volunteer commitments I did feel lighter, yet at the same time I also felt exhausted.  I had nothing left to give.  I took some time for myself and rested.  I was able to refill my own lamp, be gentle with myself, and recharge.

So I ask you again.  How full is your lamp?

Watch this video below and would love to hear your comments below.

Leave a Reply

