“It’s Clear…Go!”

key-1043849_1280

Feeling a little shaky still I wanted to Shelley’s house and asked if we could talk sometime, but not at the residence.  On Tuesday after dinner Shelley came looking for me.

“She’s in the bathroom Shelley!”  Of course, Derek knew where I was.

“Hey Aime, come down to my house when you’re done.”

Finishing up in the washroom I went down to Shelley’s house.

“Hi Aime, so here’s the plan J.P. and I will talk with you.  I have a class tonight that I’ll leave a bit early. When I get home, I’ll call you, and we’ll go over to J.P.’s house, then to the pub.”  She warmly smiled at me.

Taking a big breath, I looked at Shelley “Okay, Derek and I are going swimming tonight.”

“No worries, call my house then when you both get back.”

“What if Derek wants to be in the room when I call you?”  Wringing my hands in worry.

“Tell Derek you have a private call to make.  Easy!”  Shelley smiled.

Derek and I went swimming.  Hand in hand we walked back towards the residence.  We could see our breath as we walked.  Our feet crunching on the snow.  Yes, Easter weekend, and there was still snow.

“Derek, sweetie, I have a phone call to make.  So, we got to speed up a bit.”  Starting to get worried myself as I told him.

“Who’s it to?”  Derek demanded to know.

“It’s a personal call, I need to be alone in private.”  Doing my best to stay strong, and not waiver my voice.

“But who are you calling?”  Anger starting to sound in Derek’s voice.

“It’s a personal call.”  My voice did quiver.

As we walked down the hall towards our rooms I said to Derek “I’ll come to your room when done.  Shouldn’t be too long.”

Closing my door behind me when I entered the room Carry smiles.  “Aime, J.P. called and left a message to call her house instead of Shelley’s.  What’s up?”

“I’m going with Shelley and J.P.  to talk about Derek and me, and what happened on the weekend.”  I started to shake.  “Derek thinks I’m making a personal and private call.”

Dialing J.P. I was still shaking.  “Aime are you okay?  Don’t be afraid of Derek.  You should be able to go where ever you please without him knowing.  Shelley and I will be there in a few minutes. Okay?”  J.P. sounding caring and strong at the same time.

“Okay.”  My voice quivered and I let out a shaky breath.

“Aime are you okay?  Stay strong and don’t be afraid.”

I hung up the phone and really started shaking like a leaf in a strong wind.

“I’ll play along, and play dumb.”  Carry re-assured me.

What seemed like hours but was only 10min Shelley an J.P. arrived at the room.  They both came in and each gave me a really big hug.  “Aime you shouldn’t be afraid and you should feel free to leave without telling Derek where you’re going 24/7.”  J.P. said with compassion.

Putting on my coat and grabbing my keys I made it out of my room okay into the hall.  The brown hallway carpet was rough and well walked when I stood frozen in the hallway.  Shelley and J.P. walked passed Derek’s room without any problems.  I however froze in my tracks.

“Come on, it’s okay.”  Shelley motioned with her hand and smiled.  J.P. on the other hand pressed her back up on the wall by Derek’s door, brought her hands up to her chest like police officers do before they storm a location.  She snapped her head at Derek’s door which was partly closed and then looked at me.  Hissing at me she exclaimed “It’s clear, go!”

Once in the pub I still didn’t feel safe.  J.P. and Shelley sat me down not facing the main door of the pub.  “Aime, how do you feel?”  J.P. looked concerned when she asked. 

“Scared, what if Derek comes and finds me?  I’m afraid he’ll come looking for me, and there’s only one way out of here.”  I whipped my head around to look out the door of the pub and hallway.

“We don’t need to worry about that.  J.P. has her car keys and we can leave out the server entrance.  We got permission from the pub manager.  We got you, you’re safe with us.”  Shelley reached out to my hands that were shaking on the table.  J.P. showed me her keys for her car.  Smiling at me J.P. said “Tell us what happened on Saturday.”

Re-telling Shelley and J.P. what happened was hard.  My voice was shaking and I was teary eyed.

“Okay, so fist as we said earlier you can go where ever you please on or off campus.  Without being afraid of Derek.  And he’s not your Mum, you’re right so let’s figure out other things to say to Derek, so you feel confident and strong when around him, and when he starts in on you.”  J.P. said to me.

“Do you feel better Aime?”  Shelley asked when we were done.

“Yes, a little, thank you.”  Taking a big breath and a sigh of relief I weakly smiled.

Leave a Reply

