Moving Back In

lifting-24401_640

The summer had ended, Dad had gone to put our beloved mini dachi Herky down.  He was old, and was starting to lose control of his body systems.  It was sad.  Yet friends helped me stay happy we went out to dinner and talked about the fun times with Herky.  I finished working at Camp Adelaide for the last time.  I counted and had facilitated with the other Water Front staff 43 All Camp – Camp Fires, and well over that number of Regatta’s for the past six summers.

Driving back up to Thunder Bay with my parents was long, yet I loved the scenery of seeing the crystal-clear lakes, and all the tree’s as we got closer to Thunder Bay.  Stopping in tiny towns along the highway that only had an A&W and maybe one other store.  The ride this time was also a little nerve wracking to me as I was getting closer to campus.  I was getting afraid of seeing Derek.  The nightmares had not gone away that started soon after he left after visiting back in May.

Moving in day for the new students had started.  Luckily the weather stayed in our favour and it was a wonderful sunny day.  I loved helping the new students move in and find their room in the same dorm as me.  Directing traffic and telling people where to stand was fun too.  Many parents with questions on where to park was common as well.

I ran into Bill, and Rob in the afternoon in one of the wings of the dorms.  “Hey Aime!  Nice to see you again!  How was your summer?”  Rob was a big gentle giant.  He was in the music program.

“Hi Rob!  Hi Bill!  Nice to see you guys too.  My summer was great.  Spent it at the Girl Guide Camp working as a Waterfront Staff.  It was fun.  Where are you guys living?”

“We’re living in Eagle River 6 over in Phase 2, the townhouses.  Charlie and Derek are with us.”  Bill replied with a smile.

“Oh, that’s good.”  Doing my best to think of something to say that was polite and friendly fast.

“Aime we know about Derek and you.  And to be honest I’m scared for you.”  Rob said to me with a concerned look.

“Oh.”  I had no idea on how to answer that.

“Ya, he’s acting weird, talking about you and him, and I do not like it.”  Rob finished his sentence and glanced at Bill.

“Thanks for letting me know.  I may not visit you guys when he’s there, I hope you can understand.”  I said clearing my throat.
“Oh yes, that’s perfectly okay.”  Rob said.

When they left, I did my best to remain calm, I was out in public on campus and a new group of students and their parents were coming towards me, and I had to help them.

The next day I did see Derek three times.  Each time my stomach did circles and flips.  I did my best to stay calm, taking big breathes.  The first time was at a distance, he was outside the other dorm style residence where I was heading.  Derek turned though in the other direction heading off down a different path.  Luckily our paths did not cross that time.  Later that morning I was in a line up for a new student to wait and pay, I had been with a fellow volunteer about our summer’s as she was also a Girl Guide.

Derek came very close, he got into line to pay as well.  He was not in my direct eye line of sight, but off to one side.  I stood as close to the wall as possible pressing the side of my body into the wall, I wanted to disappear.  I kept looking down at my toes.  I froze, and my stomach did more flip flops, I felt like I was going to puke.

The third time was at night.  There was a bonfire on campus that night and I had come back to my dorm, a place where I should feel safe.  My door key to my room was giving me problems.  I saw Rob, Bill, Charlie and Derek coming through the hall, they were almost at the doorway into the hall where I lived.  “Oh shit” I thought.  “Get this damn door open!”  My mind raced.

Rob, Bill, and Charlie all said hi.  I had my back to them, and did not turn around.  I did respond with hi to be polite.  When I got, my door unlocked finally I glanced up, Bill, Charlie, and Rob were walking at a normal pace.  Derek on the other hand was at a fast walk.  I got to my blanket on my bed and took some deep breaths.  The feeling of wanting to puke had returned.  I did not feel safe.

I did my best to walk calmly back to the bonfire, as I was going to be leading a couple of songs.  I ran into the Res. Programmer for the year and she gave me a confused look.  I must have had a scared/sad look on my face.

After the bonfire, I had agreed to chat with Julie as we really hadn’t had a chance to talk about things.  I had given her the letters from Derek from the summer to read.  She was going to look them over.

“Hey Aime, we got stuff to chat about for sure!”  Julie waved as I came back into the hallway.  She lived a couple doors down in a single room as well.

Leave a Reply

